Hey, I’m new here

Due to necessity right now, as we go back down to one income, we’re cutting costs and they most obvious place to cut them, is our groceries.

I am going to stick to $100 a week (about $70USD). In New Zealand, for three people, that is a challenge. A real challenge. Eating here is not cheap. That also includes diapers and formula.

I decided to get started yesterday after my groceries came to $120 and we’d spent $50 earlier in the week. I had an epiphany that when our income cuts to one instead of two in a couple of weeks that a $100 budget is going to be harder than I thought. Although I did buy a yoghurt maker which made up a chunk of that.

So I made a start yesterday. After I made bread cases with tuna in sauce in them and cut the crusts off, I cut the crusts off and made croutons to go in winter soup.

croutons

Leave a Reply

